Oscuri – Final Deliverable

With Oscuri I tried to investigate the internet as a design medium (or place). With trying to create a far-fetched secret society I explored what is necessary to get a story living on the internet. The conclusion is that it is quite a bit harder than it looks, but definitely not impossible.

Oscuri is a secret society that is within the Illuminati. Oscuri has empirical evidence for the existence of God and is with this also able to predict the future to a reasonable extent. Think about stock fluctuations and natural disasters. I created a Wikipedia page for this society, or at least tried to, and created a forum post on a conspiracy forum about Oscuri in hope to get some kind of response.

Forum: http://www.therealconspiracyforum.com/index.php?/topic/1283-oscuri/
Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Draft:Oscuri

Unfortunately I underestimated the time I needed to create evidence (and I underestimated the amount of evidence I needed). The resulted in a completely unbelievable conspiracy theory and a 24 hour ban from being allowed to post on Wikipedia. Next to this I have gotten no response from anyone on the forum.

I think the main problem in this case was the lack of evidence. I should have posted more things under different names on different kind of sites and all link them to each other. Creating this spider web of enough people saying that they have seen them and similar things, without extremely good evidence. Next to this a photoshop of a “book I found” for instance could have helped.

On the final exhibition I presented my conclusions on a poster next to the draft Wikipedia page. The poster I presented is here:

Final

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

