“The future is tomorrow’s everyday present.”

First of all, what?

I had to say this many times out loud to even grasp it. Actually, I’m not quite sure if I’ve fully grasped the meaning of that sentence yet. It’s sentences like these that makes me hate the doubletalk that is so often used in these articles. I attempted to make a diagram to understand it, but I just ended up pointing arrows back at everything.

Processed with VSCOcam with b3 preset

It’s like a strange dance.

That sentence aside, these readings were easily digestible, which I enjoyed. It’s interesting how it touches on how futurism is an English-speaking Western male topic, which is pretty understandable. Is futurism white people problems? “Technocrats,” a word I’d never heard before reading this is news to me, which is strange because it now seems that we go to a very technocratic university. This is troubling to me, because I never thought of guerrilla futurists going against other futurists. Is there a rift between futurists, an ongoing battle of technocrats versus guerrillas?

This brings me to the question of what is the future of futurists? I eagerly await the day when we look back at what people say or make projects about and laugh about their ridiculousness or cry about their truth. What will be the flying car of our day, in terms of things we expect to be probable but are really only possible.

Bruce Sterling’s quote about being a pufferfish reminded me of the episode of Normal Spongebob in which he becomes so normal that he’s absolutely boring and flat. I like to think of myself as a weird person, but how far does that get me in the most practical sense? While I enjoy embracing one’s individuality and weirdness, I feel that a little normalcy helps others understand you. If I’m spiky, won’t that hurt people? Will I eventually deflate?

Leave a Reply

