Clarity & Consequence

Markussen – The Poetics of Design Fiction

Alright, I must admit: I am on the fence about this article: While I appreciate the introduction to ‘poetics’ as a means of ‘making’, a new lens on the traditional ‘praxis’ that parallels many disciplines and subdisciplines of design—I simply do not believe that Marksussen offers substantial evidences. Okay, great, he had a single workshop, where you generated four distinct artifacts: this is admirable, but frankly, also underwhelming. Furthermore, I’m unresolved as to if simply reframing literary conventions as design deliverables makes for more implicit research. I’m all for the use of literary structure to backbone the intentions of a speculative designer, but this article didn’t feel to introduce anything that wasn’t already published; most of its novelties were in fact borrowed from several, cited, sources. Was this piece supposed to just act as a summary of what other people have done? Or was it meant to simply highlight some findings from a one-time workshop? I’m not sure either of these count as ‘steppingstones’.

Franke – Design Fiction is Not Necessarily About The Future

Perhaps one of the best reads on Design Fiction I’ve read thusfar (in and outside of the class, of course), Franke’s review of the discipline delivers substance and style. Very clearly researched, Franke extends this transparency through to his (or his borrowed) definitions that make the piece helpful for me in navigating some of the more nuanced subtleties of Design Fiction. As a note, I think it’s important that this article references the field’s needs to “widen their intellectual disposition” — further affirming Malpiss’ article last week. Another note, I’m glad there’s more detail regarding the use of scenarios/narratives (over objects) to help create implications (through imagination): this is of personal interest to me as my primary vehicle for communication has grown to parallel graphic-filmic design methods. All said, while I do feel a slight inclination to doubleback and digest several of his references, Franke’s structure ensures this tedium would be rather enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

