Horatian and Juvenalian approaches – categories or spectrum?

I really enjoyed this break-down of the different types of satire. I hear Dan’s point that being able to give names to things doesn’t intrinsically add value to them, and while I don’t necessarily agree that there isn’t value to naming things, I do agree that this particular type of categorization seems fairly arbitrary (especially with a third category in the taxonomy which is for the intersection of them.) I think I’d be happier if the paper discussed them as a spectrum, which would let people talk about the level to which different aspects of satire occurred for each object, rather than trying to find a best fit categorization.

Leave a Reply

